Mikey Te’o Reaches 50 Caps

On Sunday, March 5th, Mikey Te’o became the thirtieth player in Major League Rugby to appear in 50 matches.

Mikey Te’o began playing Rugby in high school for Belmont Shore Youth Rugby in 2009. He established himself quickly as a big-time player earning a spot on the USA Junior All-Americans (U-20s) and competing with the team in the Junior World Trophy in 2012. That same season, just shy of 19 years of age, he helped lead Belmont Shore to win both the USA XVs and 7s Club National Championships. In addition, Mikey was named MVP of the 2012 USA Club 7s National Championship Tournament.

Photo by John Matthew Harrison

Following the outstanding 2012 season with Belmont Shore and the Junior All-Americans, Mikey earned a US Eagles 7s residency contract. He represented the United States in the HSBC 7s series at 11 tournaments. He earned his first cap for the US Eagles on February 13th, 2016, against Canada in the Americas Rugby Championship, becoming Eagle number 476. Mikey has represented his country 30 total times.

Mikey previously played the last two seasons with the Utah Warriors, appearing in 31 matches. Following the 2021 season, Mikey was named MLR Player of the Year and first-team All-MLR at Fullback.

As a senior club player, he previously played for Belmont Shore, Tiger Rugby, San Diego Breakers, Taranaki, London Scottish, and the Utah Warriors.

To date, in his MLR career, Te’o has scored 24 tries, made 390 ball carries, has 4,595 meters run, and 161 tackles made.

Photo by Davey Wilson

Major League Rugby is honoring the first 50 players to reach 50 caps and their role in building the legacy of MLR. The latest of the first thirty players to accomplish 50 caps for MLR includes Andrew Quattrin of the New England Free Jacks, Kevin Sullivan of NOLA Gold,  Mason Pedersen of the Seattle Seawolves.

Stay tuned for more announcements as players reach the 50 caps milestone, and cement their spot in Major League Rugby’s history.

The post Mikey Te’o Reaches 50 Caps appeared first on Major League Rugby.